About Us


IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE’s highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

IEEE, pronounced “Eye-triple-E,” stands for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The association is chartered under this name and it is the full legal name.

However, as the world’s largest technical professional association, IEEE’s membership has long been composed of engineers, scientists, and allied professionals. These include computer scientists, software developers, information technology professionals, physicists, medical doctors, and many others in addition to IEEE’s electrical and electronics engineering core. For this reason the organization no longer goes by the full name, except on legal business documents, and is referred to simply as IEEE.


IEEE DTU Student Branch is the oldest as well as the largest student branch in Delhi Section of Region 10. It is the recipient of the prestigious Darrel Chong award, silver medal for the past consecutive 2 years for its exemplary student activities. This prestigious society has been longstanding since its inception on 1st August 1983. With the aim of instilling scientific temperament in the student community through a plethora of activities around the year it boasts of a colorful history spanning over three decades. Treading towards the path of development, the student branch regularly organizes field trips, industrial visits, technical paper presentation sessions, quizzes and conferences. Today, IEEE DTU claims to have under its wing a massive strength of more than 450 student members, working actively throughout the year.


Delhi Section is one of the 11 Sections in India coming under Asia-Pacific Region, the Region 10 of IEEE. It covers entire northern part of the country consisting of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, Union Territory of Chandi- garh and the five states of Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir. IEEE Delhi Section, which started on May 13, 1976 (after remaining as Sub-section since 1974), has as per January 2015 statistics 5336 active Members. The Section has got more than hundred Student Branches and Branch-Chapters including IEEE DTU.

IEEE Delhi Section organizes various educational activities regularly for the: