The IEEE is a professional association with its corporate office in New York City and its operations center in Piscataway, New Jersey. It was formed in 1963 from the amalgamation of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers. Today it is the world's largest association of technical professionals with more than 400,000 members in chapters around the world. Its objectives are the educational and technical advancement of electrical and electronic engineering, telecommunications, computer engineering and allied disciplines. IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE’s highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.



IEEE DTU Student Branch is the oldest as well as the largest student branch in Delhi Section of Region 10. It is the recipient of the prestigious Darrel Chong award, silver medal for the past consecutive 2 years for its exemplary student activities. This prestigious society has been longstanding since its inception on 1st August 1983. With the aim of instilling scientific temperament in the student community through a plethora of activities around the year it boasts of a colorful history spanning over three decades. Treading towards the path of development, the student branch regularly organizes field trips, industrial visits, technical paper presentation sessions, quizzes and conferences. Today, IEEE DTU claims to have under its wing a massive strength of more than 450 student members, working actively throughout the year.

IEEE Region 10 & Delhi Section


Delhi Section is one of the 11 Sections in India coming under Asia-Pacific Region, the Region 10 of IEEE. It covers entire northern part of the country consisting of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, Union Territory of Chandi- garh and the five states of Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir. IEEE Delhi Section, which started on May 13, 1976 (after remaining as Sub-section since 1974), has as per January 2015 statistics 5336 active Members. The Section has got more than hundred Student Branches and Branch-Chapters including IEEE DTU.

IEEE Delhi Section organizes various educational activities regularly for the:


IEEE's membership has long been composed of engineers and scientists. Allied professionals who are members include computer scientists, software developers, information technology professionals, physicists, and medical doctors, in addition to IEEE's electrical and electronics engineering core.

Most IEEE members are electrical and electronics engineers, but the organization's wide scope of interests has attracted people in other disciplines as well (e.g., computer science, software engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, biology, physics, and mathematics).

An individual can join the IEEE as a student member, professional member, or associate member. In order to qualify for membership, the individual must fulfill certain academic or professional criteria and abide to the code of ethics and bylaws of the organization.
There are several categories and levels of IEEE membership and affiliation: